Super Bowl MVP Odds

Last Updated

Patrick Mahomes won the Super Bowl 57 MVP award after helping lead the Kansas City Chiefs to a comeback win over the Philadelphia Eagles in January. Odds on the winner of Super Bowl 58 are available at legal online sportsbooks. For lines on the winner of the next Super Bowl MVP, we’ll have to wait until the matchup is set. Below, we’ll take a look at what you need to know about betting on the Super Bowl MVP.

Latest odds on the Super Bowl MVP

Once the Super Bowl 58 matchup is official, sportsbooks will release odds on the winner of the game’s MVP award. We’ll take a look at the lines once that happens.

2024 Super Bowl MVP favorites

The starting QBs will almost always be the top two favorites. Next up will be the top skill position players on both sides — running backs, wide receivers and tight ends — and impact defensive players, as in those who can generate turnovers or pressure on the QB. If we look back at the betting lines for the MVP at Super Bowl 57, the two starting QBs — Patrick Mahomes and Jalen Hurts — topped the charts.

Next up were two of the top skill position players on both sides, Travis Kelce and A.J. Brown. Mahomes was ultimately the winner. He threw for 182 yards and three TDs during the Chiefs’ comeback victory. If the Eagles had come out on top, Hurts had built a strong case to win the award behind a four-TD performance.

Super Bowl MVP long shots

If you wish to place a Super Bowl MVP bet, you may want to wager on just one player. However, you can also make multiple picks. For example, you could bet on the QB of the team that you think will come out on top, and then make another pick or two from players with longer odds. Unexpected winners of the award aren’t out of the question. Over the past decade alone, two WRs and two LBs have been the game’s MVP. When considering the longer shots, try to identify players who can deliver impressive production and/or make a game-changing play. A back or receiver who receives a good number of touches can fit the bill, as can a defender or return specialist who could break the game open with a turnover or touchdown.

How to bet on the Super Bowl MVP

There are hundreds of Super Bowl bets, and trying to pick the MVP is one of the most popular options. When the game is approaching, sportsbooks will have odds for all players with a chance of winning.

If we look back to Super Bowl LVI, the starting QBs for the Los Angeles Rams and Cincinnati Bengals were the top choices on the board. Matthew Stafford was hovering around +125 at game time, while Joe Burrow was at +225.

Rams wideout Cooper Kupp proceeded to have a game for the ages to win the award at odds of +600. If you had bet $50 on Kupp at that number prior to kickoff, the return would have been $300 in profit.

Betting trends for Super Bowl MVP

Here’s the position breakdown for all 58 winners (there were co-MVPs for Super Bowl XII) to date.

PositionTimes WonLast Win
Wide Receiver82022
Running Back71998
Defensive End21986
Defensive Tackle11978

If we went solely by the all-time stats, then QBs are the clear-cut choice. One of them has been the correct call a little more than 55% of the time. You can also make a case for a WR, RB or LB as a riskier selection. However, we have to go all the way back to 1998 to find the last back to win (Terrell Davis of the Denver Broncos).

Since that point, the award has gone to a quarterback, wide receiver or defender each time. Of the 25 awards over that period, QBs have won 16, or 64% of the time. Wide receivers have won five, and defensive players have tallied four (three for linebackers and one for a safety).

Recent Super Bowl MVP history

If we look back over the past decade of big games, it’s a similar story: QBs have won the majority, with the rest going to receivers and defenders. Here are the last 10 winners of the Super Bowl MVP award:

SeasonSuper BowlPlayerTeamPosition
2023LVIIPatrick MahomesKansas City ChiefsQB
2022LVICooper KuppLos Angeles RamsWR
2021LVTom BradyTampa Bay BuccaneersQB
2020LIVPatrick MahomesKansas City ChiefsQB
2019LIIIJulian EdelmanNew England PatriotsWR
2018LIINick FolesPhiladelphia EaglesQB
2017LITom BradyNew England PatriotsQB
201650Von MillerDenver BroncosLB
2015XLIXTom BradyNew England PatriotsQB
2014XLVIIIMalcolm SmithSeattle SeahawksLB

For the 10-year span, QBs have won six, while receivers and linebackers are at two each. A quarterback has won the award three out of the last four times, but receivers have been the correct call for two of the last five years.


Has there ever been a Super Bowl MVP from a losing team?

This has happened only once in NFL history. Dallas Cowboys LB Chuck Howley was the MVP of Super Bowl V despite his team falling short to the Baltimore Colts by a score of 16-13. Howley intercepted two passes and forced a fumble during the game.

Who votes on the Super Bowl MVP winner?  

A panel of 16 football writers and broadcasters. Fans can also weigh in with their say by voting electronically. The votes aren’t weighted equally; the panel counts for 80% of the tally, and the public vote is the remaining 20%.

What channel will broadcast Super Bowl 58?  

CBS is the broadcast home for Super Bowl LVIII, which will take place on Feb. 11, 2024, at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas. The game should kick off around its typical start time of 6:30 p.m. ET.

Other Sportsbook Offers