The American Express 2024 Odds & Field: Outright Winner, Top 5, Top 10, & More

Updated on

Bonus offer for new BetMGM Massachusetts sportsbook users for the Wells Fargo Championship

The early portion of the PGA Tour continues this week with The American Express. The tournament gets underway on Thursday at La Quinta Country Club in California and wraps up on Sunday. Scottie Scheffler is the current betting favorite to win, followed by Patrick Cantlay and Xander Schauffele

The 156 golfers in the field will be competing for an $8.4 million purse. The last four winners of this event have all carded a -23 or better, which suggests that it’ll take a stellar four days of golf to pull out the victory. Broadcast coverage will be on the Golf Channel. Read on for the latest odds and a betting preview of the 2024 American Express

Latest odds for the 2024 American Express

Below are the latest betting odds for The American Express golf tournament. Clicking any of the odds will take you to the sportsbook offering that line. Sports betting promos are available for new users. 

Best odds for The American Express

The best available betting odds for the current favorites at the 2024 American Express are below. You can place wagers on golfers to win or place in the top five or 10, as well as various props, groups, and head-to-head matchups. Read more about betting on golf here

The American Express odds to win 

The American Express top five finish odds 

The American Express top 10 finish odds 

2024 American Express betting favorites

The current favorite to win The American Express is Scottie Scheffler, who continues to hold down the top spot in the Official World Golf Ranking. His most recent appearance resulted in a tie for fifth at The Sentry, which came on the heels of his victory at the Hero World Challenge. 

Two golfers are jockeying for second place in the latest odds: Patrick Cantlay and Xander Schauffele. Cantlay is sixth in the OWGR and most recently tied for 12th at The Sentry. Schauffele holds down the fifth spot in the OWGR, and he finished in a tie for 10th at last week’s Sentry tournament. 

Behind the three leaders, three more golfers round out the top of the latest American Express odds board: Sungjae Im, Justin Thomas, and Tom Kim. Im and Kim finished in a tie for fifth and a tie for 45th, respectively, at The Sentry. Thomas skipped last week’s event and most recently finished third at the Hero World Challenge.  

Prize pool for the 2024 American Express

The purse size for the 2024 American Express is $8.4 million, with $1.512 million and 500 Fed Ex Cup points for the winner. Second place is good for $915,600, with the award steadily declining from there, all the way down to $13,860 for 90th place. 

The prize pool for this event has been steadily increasing through the years. Last year’s winner, Jon Rahm, pocketed $1.44 million of the $8 million total purse. Rahm will not be in the field for this week’s event.  

The American Express TV and streaming schedule

Broadcast coverage of The American Express will be available on Peacock and the Golf Channel. The event will also be available to stream through PGA Tour Live on ESPN+. Below is the full schedule for the main broadcast windows: 

The American Express course and weather

The American Express will have a multi-course layout. The first three rounds will be contested on a trio of par-72 courses, with the final round taking place on the Pete Dye Stadium Course, a par-72 that stretches 7,187 yards. 

The extended forecast is calling for temperatures in the 70s for all four days of the event. Winds are expected to be moderate, with minimal risk of precipitation. In short, weather isn’t expected to be much of an issue.   

Recent winners of The American Express

The history of this tournament stretches back to 1960 through a number of format and name changes. Since 2020, it has simply been known as The American Express while remaining a fixture of the PGA Tour’s early-season West Coast swing. Here’s a look back at the winners and runners-up since that point. 

2023Jon Rahm (-27)Davis Thompson (-26)
2022Hudson Swafford (-23)Tom Hoge (-21)
2021Si Woo Kim (-23)Patrick Cantlay (-22)
2019Andrew Landry (-26)Abraham Ancer (-24)