NFL Rookie of the Year Odds 2023

Last Updated

As we get ready for Super Bowl 57, betting odds for the rookie of the year awards remain open for business. On the offensive side, the numbers tightened at the end of the regular season. It appears to be a three-horse race between Garrett Wilson , Kenneth Walker and Brock Purdy . Ahmad Gardner is the clear front-runner on defense, and the award appears to be his to lose. The official announcement of the winners is fast approaching. Here’s a look at what you need to know about betting on this year’s award winners.

2023 NFL Rookie of the Year odds

The winners of this year’s NFL rookie of the year awards will be announced on Thursday. Futures bets on the winner have been removed from the menu at legal online sportsbooks. Odds for next year’s winners will come out as the 2023 regular season approaches. In the interim, here’s a look at the latest odds for Super Bowl 57.

2023 Offensive Rookie of the Year favorites

Garrett Wilson has held the lead on the odds board for several weeks, but the race tightened up toward the end of the regular season. Kenneth Walker rose back up the charts after dipping slightly as he worked through an injury. Brock Purdy has gone from being the last pick in the draft to delivering for a contending 49ers team. Here are the latest odds for the current favorites.

PlayerPositionTeamCurrent NFL OROY OddsOpening Odds
Garrett WilsonWRNew York Jets+800
Kenneth WalkerRBSeattle Seahawks+1800
Brock PurdyQBSan Francisco 49ersNA
Christian WatsonWRGreen Bay Packers+950

2023 Defensive Rookie of the Year favorites

Ahmad Gardner has become a key cog in a much-improved Jets defense. The award looks to be his to lose. Aidan Hutchinson and Tariq Woolen are battling for second place, while Kayvon Thibodeaux has risen up the charts in the wake of several standout performances. Here are the latest odds for the current defensive favorites.

PlayerPositionTeamCurrent NFL DROY OddsOpening Odds
Ahmad GardnerCBNew York Jets+900
Aidan HutchinsonDEDetroit Lions+500
Tariq WoolenCBSeattle Seahawks+10000
Kayvon ThibodeauxDENew York Giants+550

How to bet on the NFL rookies of the year

Following the NFL draft, sportsbooks will unveil odds on the Offensive and Defensive Rookie of the Year award winners for the upcoming season.

The wager requires a long-term perspective, as it won’t settle until we know who’s won. As an example, a $100 winning wager on Jahan Dotson at odds of +800 would bring back a profit of $800, while a winning $100 bet on Aidan Hutchinson at +300 would return $300 in profit.

Who were the top picks at this year’s NFL draft?

While a lofty draft spot is not a prerequisite for winning ROY honors, it certainly doesn’t hurt the chances. Here are the top 10 picks off the board on draft day and their current odds of winning one of the awards.

1Jacksonville JaguarsTravon WalkerDEGeorgia
2Detroit LionsAidan HutchinsonDEMichigan
3Houston TexansDerek Stingley Jr.CBLSU
4New York JetsAhmad GardnerCBCincinnati
5New York GiantsKayvon ThibodeauxDEOregon
6Carolina PanthersIkem EkwonuOTNC State
7New York GiantsEvan NealOTAlabama
8Atlanta FalconsDrake LondonWRUSC
9Seattle SeahawksCharles CrossOTMississippi State
10New York JetsGarrett WilsonWROhio State

Recent NFL ROY winners 

Every season, a lot of talented players enter the NFL, and many go on to make their mark on the league. If we look back over the past decade of NFL rookie of the year winners, there’s no shortage of name recognition or impact players.

2021 – OffenseJa’Marr ChaseWRCincinnati Bengals
2021 – DefenseMicah ParsonsLBDallas Cowboys
2020 – OffenseJustin HerbertQBLos Angeles Chargers
2020 – DefenseChase YoungDEWashington Commanders
2019 – OffenseKyler MurrayQBArizona Cardinals
2019 – DefenseNick BosaDESan Francisco 49ers
2018 – OffenseSaquon BarkleyRBNew York Giants
2018 – DefenseDarius LeonardLBIndianapolis Colts
2017 – OffenseAlvin KamaraRBNew Orleans Saints
2017 – DefenseMarshon LattimoreCBNew Orleans Saints
2016 – OffenseDak PrescottQBDallas Cowboys
2016 – DefenseJoey BosaDESan Diego Chargers
2015 – OffenseTodd GurleyRBSt. Louis Rams
2015 – DefenseMarcus PetersCBKansas City Chiefs
2014 – OffenseOdell Beckham Jr.WRNew York Giants
2014 – DefenseAaron DonaldDTSt Louis Rams
2013 – OffenseEddie LacyRBGreen Bay Packers
2013 – DefenseSheldon RichardsonDENew York Jets
2012 – OffenseRobert Griffin IIIQBWashington Commanders
2012 – DefenseLuke KuechlyLBCarolina Panthers

Which position is the best bet for rookie of the year?

Since 1967, there have been two main Rookie of the Year awards annually, one for offensive players and another for defenders. Here’s the position breakdown of winners on both sides of the ball since that point.

Historically, running backs hold a massive edge, but the distribution has been much more level over the past decade. Of the past ten winners, there have been four quarterbacks, four running backs, and two wide receivers.

On an all-time basis, linebackers have racked up the most awards by a wide margin. However, the split also evens out here over the last 10 years: four defensive ends, three linebackers, two cornerbacks, and one defensive tackle.


How many times has the first overall NFL draft pick won a rookie of the year award?

This has happened six times, with the most recent occurring in 2019 when Arizona Cardinals QB Kyler Murray won the award. Of the six players in this exclusive group, the breakdown is three each for quarterbacks and running backs.

Has a rookie ever won the NFL MVP award?  

The legendary Jim Brown is the only player who has won the award in his rookie season. The Cleveland Browns RB rushed for 1,133 yards and 10 TDs over 12 games, easily winning rookie of the year honors, as well.

Who was the last rookie of the year to appear in the Super Bowl in the same season?

Cincinnati Bengals WR Ja’Marr Chase was the offensive rookie of the year for the 2021 season. The Bengals went on a run through the AFC playoffs before falling to the Los Angeles Rams in the Super Bowl.

Other Sportsbook Offers