2022-23 NFL MVP Odds

Last Updated

Super Bowl 57 is fast approaching, with the action coming our way on Sunday. The Kansas City Chiefs will take on the Philadelphia Eagles at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. In addition to deciding which club will take home the Lombardi Trophy, the game will feature two of the league’s top stars. Current MVP betting favorite Patrick Mahomes will lead the Chiefs into battle against Jalen Hurts, currently third in MVP betting futures, and the Eagles. The latest Super Bowl spread suggests a potentially close matchup, and the two QBs will have plenty to say about which club will come out on top. Here’s a look at what you need to know about betting on the winner of the next NFL MVP award and the latest odds.

NFL MVP odds: Mahomes leads the field

The winner of this year’s MVP award will be announced at the annual NFL Honors ceremony on Feb. 9. Betting odds have been removed from the board, while sportsbooks will release the lines for next year’s winner over the offseason. Here are the latest odds for Super Bowl 57.


NFL MVP odds tracker 2022-23

The MVP chase has continued to take shape throughout the season. Here’s a look at the odds for the top choices and the movement that we’ve seen since the initial release.

PlayerThis WeekLast WeekPre-Season
Patrick Mahomes-1600-1600+900
Joe Burrow+900+900+1200
Jalen Hurts+1500+1500+2000
Josh Allen+1500+1500+650
Justin Jefferson+10000+10000+15000

NFL MVP odds tracker last updated: Feb. 6, 2022

Favorites to win the 2022 NFL MVP

The race to win the next NFL MVP award has taken several twists and turns since the beginning of the regular season. Here are the current favorites.

Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs

In addition to a stiff test from a stellar Bengals team, Mahomes had to battle through a high ankle sprain in the AFC title game. He still managed to deliver. Mahomes threw for 326 yards and a pair of touchdowns as the Chiefs escaped with a 23-20 victory to advance to the big game. The superstar Kansas City QB gets a chance to add to his already lengthy resume against the Eagles in Super Bowl 57 on Feb. 12.

Joe Burrow, Cincinnati Bengals

Burrow helped lead the Bengals to the AFC conference championship game for the second year in a row, but he and the team came up just short in a close road loss to the Chiefs. The third-year pro had a challenging day while throwing for one TD and a pair of INTs. The loss will leave a mark, but it doesn’t take away from the fact that Burrow is one of the league’s brightest young stars.

Jalen Hurts, Philadelphia Eagles

After an impressive 14-3 regular season, the Eagles have continued their winning ways with a pair of dominant wins over the Giants and 49ers in the postseason to make it to the Super Bowl. Philadelphia has outscored its playoff foes by a combined 69-14. Hurts has had a big hand in the dominant run, accounting for four total TDs while continuing to demonstrate that he’s one of the league’s top dual threats at QB.

Josh Allen, Buffalo Bills

The season came to a close with a thud for Allen and the Bills in the divisional round of the playoffs. The team was a six-point favorite over the visiting Bengals, but Cincinnati took control from the onset and never looked back for a 27-10 victory on a snowy day in Buffalo. Allen finished the game with 265 passing yards and an INT, along with 26 rushing yards and a TD.

Long shots to win the 2022 NFL MVP

At this point, there’s a clear-cut leader in the odds and a trio of other QBs jockeying for second place. Behind the top four favorites, Justin Jefferson is in the fifth spot following his stellar regular season. Jefferson hauled in 128 receptions for 1,809 yards and eight TDs. On Jan. 25, the Associated Press officially announced the finalists for the MVP award, and it aligned perfectly with the top five on the charts: Mahomes, Hurts, Burrow, Allen and Jefferson.

NFL MVP line moves

Patrick Mahomes remains the betting favorite as Super Bowl 57 approaches. The award appears to be his to lose, as Joe Burrow, Josh Allen and Jalen Hurts are well behind as far as the odds are concerned. However, those three QBs have had exceptional campaigns of their own. Allen entered the season as the betting favorite, while Hurts spent some time atop the board as the stretch run began. Mahomes took over the lead as the regular season was winding down and has remained in the top spot since that point.

Last 10 winners of the NFL MVP award

2021QB Aaron RodgersGreen Bay Packers
2020QB Aaron RodgersGreen Bay Packers
2019QB Lamar JacksonBaltimore Ravens
2018QB Patrick MahomesKansas City Chiefs
2017QB Tom BradyNew England Patriots
2016QB Matt RyanAtlanta Falcons
2015QB Cam NewtonCarolina Panthers
2014QB Aaron RodgersGreen Bay Packers
2013QB Peyton ManningDenver Broncos
2012RB Adrian PetersonMinnesota Vikings

Teams with the most NFL MVP awards, 1957-present

TeamNumberLast Winner
Packers10QB Aaron Rodgers, 2021
Colts9QB Peyton Manning, 2009
49ers5QB Steve Young, 1994
Browns4QB Brian Sipe, 1980
Rams4QB Kurt Warner, 2001
Broncos3QB Peyton Manning, 2013
Patriots3QB Tom Brady, 2017
Raiders3QB Rich Gannon, 2002
Vikings3RB Adrian Peterson, 2012
Commanders3QB Joe Theismann, 1982

NFL MVP award winners by position, 1957-present

Quarterback46Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers, 2021
Running Back18Adrian Peterson, Minnesota Vikings, 2012
Defensive Tackle1Alan Page, Minnesota Vikings, 1971
Kicker1Mark Moseley, Washington, 1982
Linebacker1Lawrence Taylor, New York Giants, 1986

Popular NFL futures bets

Betting on NFL futures usually means wagering on season-long outcomes. This includes betting on the winner of the AFC or NFC, the Super Bowl or the MVP. Futures can remain active from the time related NFL lines come out through most or all of the season, depending on what you’re wagering on.

Futures betting requires a long-term perspective, as you don’t receive any payouts and your wager is locked up until the outcome on which you’re betting is official.

For the MVP award specifically, the outcome can be subjective. The award is voted on by a panel of writers. It’s another layer to consider for betting strategy.

As an example, the vote totals of a player who is not well-regarded on a personal level by members of the media can be affected, regardless of their accomplishments on the field.


What is the official name of the NFL MVP award?

The Associated Press NFL Most Valuable Player Award has been awarded annually since 1957. While there are other honors handed out at the conclusion of the season, this is the only MVP award that’s officially sanctioned by the NFL.

How is the NFL MVP award decided?

A panel of 50 sportswriters casts their votes for NFL MVP at the conclusion of the regular season. The writers make a single selection each with each vote equalling one point. The player with the most votes/points is the NFL MVP award winner.

Has there ever been a unanimous winner of the NFL MVP?

Yes, this has happened twice. Tom Brady received 50 out of 50 votes while winning his second MVP award with the New England Patriots in 2010. Lamar Jackson of the Baltimore Ravens did the same in 2019.

How many players have won multiple NFL MVP awards?

Nine players are multiple-time winners of NFL MVP. Peyton Manning has won the most all-time with five, followed by Aaron Rodgers with four. Jim Brown is among the four players who have won three, and is also the only non-QB to win multiple times.

Who was the last player to win consecutive NFL MVP awards?  

Aaron Rodgers. The reigning NFL MVP also won the award in 2020. Prior to Rodgers, the last player to turn the trick was Peyton Manning in 2008-09. In the history of the award, just five players have won in consecutive years.

Other Sportsbook Offers