Heisman Trophy Odds: Current Favorites For College Football’s Best Player In 2024

Written By

Last Updated

Heisman Trophy odds for the 2024-25 college football season are available at top online sportsbooks. Alabama QB Jalen Milroe is the early betting favorite with odds of +800. Next on the list are Texas QB Quinn Ewers (+1000) and Oklahoma QB Dillon Gabriel. Betting odds will continue to evolve as the offseason moves along.

The same will hold true once the next campaign kicks off in late August. You can place future bets on the winner of the award at any time. Looking back to last season, LSU QB Jayden Daniels was the award winner after steadily climbing the odds board throughout his prolific season. Below, we’ll take a closer look at the latest 2024 Heisman Trophy odds, current favorites to win the award, and more.

Best Heisman Trophy odds

The table below has the latest odds from top sports betting sites in various US states on the winner of the next Heisman Trophy. Clicking on any of the odds numbers will take you to the sportsbook where you can place that wager.

2024-25 Heisman Trophy betting favorites

Milroe threw for 2,834 yards and 23 TDs a season ago for Alabama as the team advanced to the College Football Playoff semifinals before losing to eventual champion Michigan. Ewers and the Longhorns also made it to the CFP, falling to Washington. Gabriel threw for 3,660 yards and 30 touchdowns while under center for the Sooners last season. Beck is the returning starter for a Bulldogs team that’s the early favorite in College Football Playoff odds, while Howard is returning to lead the Wildcats.

Recent Heisman Trophy history

There have been 85 Heisman Trophy winners (and 86 awards) since the first one in 1935. One player — Ohio State running back Archie Griffin — won the award twice, in 1974 and 1975. The award was originally called the DAC Trophy and was given out by the Downtown Athletic Club in New York City, in recognition of the best college football player east of the Mississippi River. The award was later renamed for the club’s late athletic director, John Heisman, and the focus expanded to include college football players nationwide.

In the early years of the award, running backs dominated the field. It has been a different story in recent times with quarterbacks winning the Heisman Trophy in eight of the last 10 seasons. All told, QBs lead the all-time list of winners by position with 38 Heisman wins.

SeasonHeisman WinnerPositionTeam
2014Marcus MariotaQBOregon
2015Derrick HenryRBAlabama
2016Lamar JacksonQBLouisville
2017Baker MayfieldQBOklahoma
2018Kyler MurrayQBOklahoma
2019Joe BurrowQBLSU
2020DeVonta SmithWRAlabama
2021Bryce YoungQBAlabama
2022Caleb WilliamsQBUSC
2023Jayden DanielsQBLSU

USC, Oklahoma, Notre Dame, and Ohio State have each had seven Heisman winners in their history. Alabama is next on the list with four, though three of those came within the last 10 seasons.

As a conference, the Big Ten and SEC are tied for the lead with 18 Heisman winners. Over the last decade, the SEC has five awards, the Big 12 and Pac-12 have two each, and the ACC has one.

Heisman Trophy FAQs

Can I bet on the winner of the Heisman Trophy?

Yes. Multiple online sportsbooks typically offer futures odds on potential Heisman winners, and those odds will shift as the season progresses.

Which players are eligible to win the Heisman?

Technically, all players in every division of college football are eligible for the Heisman. In practice, the award almost always goes to a player from one of the major Division I schools in the Football Bowl Subdivision.

Who chooses the Heisman winner?

A voting panel consisting mainly of media members who cover college football votes on the award. The voting panel also includes past Heisman winners, as well as one sponsor vote that an online fan ballot decides.

Do defensive players ever win the Heisman?

Yes, though it’s extremely rare. Quarterbacks and running backs have dominated Heisman voting in most years. The last time a primarily defensive player won the award was 1997 — Michigan cornerback Charles Woodson.