College Football Playoff Odds: Futures, Important Dates, History

Written By

Last Updated

College Football Playoff odds for the 2024-25 season are available at top online sportsbooks. The most recent season came to a close with top-seeded Michigan defeating No. 4-seed Washington to win the title. Looking ahead to the next campaign, Georgia is the early favorite at +450, followed by Alabama (+600) and Ohio State (+850).

The betting lines for the winner of the next College Football Playoff national championship game will continue to take shape over the offseason. The same will hold true once the next season kicks off in late August and as the campaign rolls along into the postseason. Let’s take a look at the latest College Football Playoff odds.

College football odds to win the national championship

The table below has the latest odds on the winner of the next college football national championship from the best sports betting sites across the country. Clicking any of the odds will take you to the sportsbook where you can place that wager.

Latest 2024-25 college football national championship odds

Georgia opens as the favorite to win the 2024-25 college football national championship. The Bulldogs were denied a chance at a third straight national championship after falling to Alabama in last season’s SEC title game. The Crimson Tide made it to the CFP last time around, falling to eventual champion Michigan in the semifinals. The Wolverines begin the offseason at sixth in CFP futures.

Get More College Football

Legal Sports Report features information on college football betting and tools to view the best odds at legal online sportsbooks. Get all the information from the season’s kickoff to the college football championship.

College Football Playoff format changes and recent history

The College Football Playoff started in 2014. Prior to that, college football used the Bowl Championship Series and the BCS national championship game to determine a champion each season. The four-team system, in which two bowl games from among the New Year’s Six served as the semifinal games, will give way to a 12-team format beginning with the 2024 season.

Since the adoption of the playoff format, Alabama, Clemson, and Georgia have been the most dominant teams. Among the three of them, they’ve won seven of the 10 championships, and at least one of those teams has played in eight of the championship games.

SeasonDateWinning teamLosing teamOther semifinalists
2014Jan. 12, 2015Ohio StateOregonAlabama, Florida State
2015Jan. 11, 2016AlabamaClemsonOklahoma, Michigan State
2016Jan. 9, 2017ClemsonAlabamaWashington, Ohio State
2017Jan. 8, 2018AlabamaGeorgiaOklahoma, Clemson
2018Jan. 7, 2019ClemsonAlabamaOklahoma, Notre Dame
2019Jan. 13, 2020LSUClemsonOklahoma, Ohio State
2020Jan. 11, 2021AlabamaOhio StateClemson, Notre Dame
2021Jan. 10, 2022GeorgiaAlabamaCincinnati, Michigan
2022Jan. 9, 2023GeorgiaTCUMichigan, Ohio State
2023Jan. 8, 2024MiciganWashingtonAlabama, Texas

SEC teams have been a dominant force in the College Football Playoff era, with six of the 10 champions coming out of that conference. The first and most recent year of the four-team format are the only title games to date that have not featured at least one SEC team.

Best college football championship odds

Get more sports betting odds

Important College Football Playoff dates

The most recent college football season came to a close on Jan. 8, with Michigan defeating Washington in the national championship game. The next campaign is slated to begin in late August. We’ll update this section with important dates to know once the schedule is available.

College Football Playoff FAQs

How are the semifinal teams chosen?

Under the most recent format, a selection committee chose the four semifinal teams. That will change in 2024, when the six highest-ranked conference champions will get automatic spots in the playoffs, as well as the six other highest-ranked teams remaining.

Can I bet on the national champion before semifinalists are announced?

Yes. Futures odds are available on multiple teams prior to the start of the season. Odds will shift as play in the 2023 season begins and the likely playoff picture becomes clearer.

Which team has won the most College Football Playoff national championships?

Alabama has won the title three times since the current format began in 2014, more than any other team. Georgia and Clemson have both won twice.

How often does a betting underdog win the national championship game?

The last team to enter the title game as an underdog and win is Clemson, which won the title in 2018 as a five-point underdog against Alabama. Clemson was also a 6.5-point underdog against Alabama in the 2016 title game, and it won that one, as well. The only other team under the current format to win the title game as an underdog is Ohio State, in the first year of the CFP system.