Super Bowl MVP Odds

Super Bowl MVP Odds

When the big game is on tap, the winner of the Super Bowl MVP is one of the most popular bets at legal online sportsbooks. The starting quarterbacks are always popular choices and have traditionally won more than their share.

Other position players can break through, though, and we need to look no further than last year’s winner of the award, Los Angeles Rams wideout Cooper Kupp, for confirmation. This page covers key points about betting on the Super Bowl MVP.

Latest odds on Super Bowl MVP

How to bet on Super Bowl MVP

There are hundreds of Super Bowl bets to choose from, and trying to pick the MVP is one of the most popular options. When the game is approaching, sportsbooks will have NFL lines for all players with a chance of winning.

If we look back to Super Bowl LVI, the starting QBs for the Rams and Cincinnati Bengals were the top choices on the board. Matthew Stafford was hovering around +125 at game time, while Joe Burrow was at +225.

Kupp proceeded to have a game for the ages to win the award at odds of +600. If you had bet $50 on Kupp at those numbers prior to kickoff, the return would have been $300 in profit.

2023 Super Bowl MVP favorites

Just like last year, the starting QBs will almost always be the top two favorites on the board. Next up will be the top skill position players on both sides — running backs, wide receivers, and tight ends — and then impact defensive players, as in those who can generate turnovers or pressure on the QB.

Historically, QBs have won quite often. We’ll walk through the exact breakdown of winners in a bit. However, as Kupp demonstrated last year, a special game from a player a bit further down the board can also be a winning ticket.

Super Bowl MVP long shots

You can be one and done with your Super Bowl MVP bet, but you can also spread out the risk. For example, you could bet on the QB of the team that you think will come out on top, and then make another pick or two from players with longer odds.

When considering the longer shots, try to identify players who can deliver impressive production and/or make a game-changing play. A top back or receiver can fit the bill, as can a defender or return specialist who could break the game open with a turnover or score.

Betting trends for Super Bowl MVP

Here’s the position breakdown for all 57 winners (there were co-MVPs for Super Bowl XII) to date.

PositionTimes WonLast Win
Wide Receiver82022
Running Back71998
Defensive End21986
Defensive Tackle11978

If we went solely by the all-time stats, then QBs are the clear-cut choice. One of them has been the correct call a little more than 54% of the time. You can also make a case for a WR, RB, or LB as a riskier selection. However, we have to go all the way back to 1998 to find the last back to win (Terrell Davis of the Denver Broncos).

Since that point, the award has gone to a quarterback, wide receiver, or defender each time. Of the 24 awards over that period, QBs have won 15, or 62.5% of the time. Wide receivers have won five, and defensive players have tallied four (three for linebackers and one for a safety).

Recent Super Bowl MVP history

If we look back over the past decade of big games, it’s a similar story: QBs have won the majority, with the rest going to receivers and defenders. Here are the last 10 winners of the Super Bowl MVP award:

SeasonSuper BowlPlayerTeamPosition
2022LVICooper KuppLos Angeles RamsWR
2021LVTom BradyTampa Bay BuccaneersQB
2020LIVPatrick MahomesKansas City ChiefsQB
2019LIIIJulian EdelmanNew England PatriotsWR
2018LIINick FolesPhiladelphia EaglesQB
2017LITom BradyNew England PatriotsQB
201650Von MillerDenver BroncosLB
2015XLIXTom BradyNew England PatriotsQB
2014XLVIIIMalcolm SmithSeattle SeahawksLB
2013XLVIIJoe FlaccoBaltimore RavensQB

For the 10-year span, QBs have won six, while receivers and linebackers are at two each. A quarterback has won the award four out of the last six times, but receivers have been the correct call for two of the last four years.

As Kupp demonstrated last year, a top wideout for a prolific passing attack can easily steal the show. Meanwhile, there was also a great case for either Stafford or Aaron Donald to win the award.

Add it all up, and the same pattern held true: The top three candidates after the Rams’ victory were a quarterback, a receiver, and a top defender. As we get set for the next big game, the recent trends make for some food for thought.


Has there ever been a Super Bowl MVP from a losing team?

This has happened only once in NFL history. Dallas Cowboys LB Chuck Howley was the MVP of Super Bowl V despite his team falling short to the Baltimore Colts by a score of 16-13. Howley intercepted two passes and forced a fumble during the game.

Who votes on the Super Bowl MVP winner?  

A panel of 16 football writers and broadcasters vote on the winner, and fans can also weigh in with their say by voting electronically. The votes aren’t weighted equally; the panel counts for 80% of the tally, and the public vote is the remaining 20%.

What channel will broadcast Super Bowl 57?  

Fox is the broadcast home for Super Bowl LVII, which will take place on Feb. 12, 2023, at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. The game should kick off around its typical start time of 6:30 p.m. ET.

Other Sportsbook Offers