Haskell Stakes Betting Guide

The Haskell Stakes takes place annually at Monmouth Park in New Jersey. It’s one of the premier events on the summer horse racing calendar. The race takes place over 1 1/8 miles and typically attracts several of the top 3-year-old thoroughbreds and familiar names from the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes. This page covers the best betting sites for wagering on the race, the latest Haskell Stakes odds, and more.

Best betting site for the 2024 Haskell Stakes

Get a No Sweat First Bet up to $500 at FanDuel Racing for Belmont Stakes
$500 Bonus
No Sweat First Bet
Up to $500 Back if Your First Bet Doesn’t Win
Get Boosted Odds & the Best Promotions
Easy Deposits, Fast Withdrawals
To Claim: Click Play Now

Haskell Stakes betting odds

Betting odds for the 2024 Haskell Stakes will come out in the days leading up to the race. We’ll take a look at the full field of contenders and the latest betting lines once that happens.

Types of bets for the Haskell Stakes

You’ll find a range of betting options for the race. Here’s a rundown of the most popular:

When placing an exacta (2x), trifecta (6x) or superfecta (24x), you can “box” the wagers. If you do, your selections can finish in any order. The numbers in the parentheses signify how many times you’ll need to multiply your stakes to place these wagers. Below are the payouts from the 2023 race.

1st Geaux Rocket Ride$27.40$9.40$4.80
2nd Mage $4.80$3.00
3rd Arabian Knight  $2.80
 $1 Exacta (1-4)Trifecta (1-4-8)Superfecta (1-4-8-7)

How to qualify for the Haskell Stakes

Being an invitational race, Haskell has no formal qualification criteria. The race organizers aim to put together the strongest field possible. The timing of the race is perfect, as it sits nicely between the end of the Triple Crown series and the start of the Breeders’ Cup. This being the case, the race has historically attracted the best 3-year-old horses from across the country. This race is part of the “win and you’re in” qualification for the Breeders’ Cup. The winner of the Haskell Stakes receives an invitation to take part in the Breeders’ Cup Classic race, the highlight event of that series.

History of the Haskell Invitational Stakes

The first running of the race took place in 1968, as the Monmouth Invitational Handicap. Then, in 1981, the board of directors of Monmouth Park decided to honor its former president, Amory Haskell, by renaming the race after him. The early events took place under handicap conditions. The inaugural winner was Balustrade, ridden by Eric Walsh and trained by Morris H. Dixon.

In 1981, the race became an invitational for 3-year-olds, and the same format remains to this day. Over the years, Haskell has attracted some of the best thoroughbreds on the planet, including American Pharoah, War Emblem, and Big Brown. In 2022, Cyberknife set a Haskell Stakes record with a winning time of 1:46.24.

Haskell Stakes winners: 1968-present

Year HorseJockey Time
2023Geaux Rocket RideMike E. Smith1:49.52
2022CyberknifeFlorent Geroux1:46.24
2021MandalounFlorent Geroux1:47.38
2020AuthenticMike E. Smith1:50.45
2019Maximum SecurityLuis Saez1:47.56
2018Good MagicJose Ortiz01:50.0
2017GirvinRobby Albarado01:48.4
2016ExaggeratorKent J. Desormeaux01:48.7
2015American PharoahVictor Espinoza01:48.0
2014BayernMartin Garcia01:47.8
2013VerrazanoJohn Velazquez01:50.7
2012PaynterRafael Bejarano01:48.7
2011CoilMartin Garcia01:48.1
2010Lookin at LuckyMartin Garcia01:49.4
2009Rachel Alexandra ‡Calvin Borel01:47.2
2008Big BrownKent Desormeaux01:48.3
2007Any Given SaturdayGarrett Gomez01:48.4
2006Bluegrass CatJohn Velazquez01:48.9
2005Roman RulerJerry Bailey01:49.9
2004Lion HeartJoe Bravo01:48.8
2003Peace RulesEdgar Prado01:49.2
2002War EmblemVictor Espinoza1.49.6
2001Point GivenGary Stevens01:48.2
2000Dixie UnionAlex Solis01:49.6
1999MenifeePat Day01:50.0
1998Coronado’s QuestMike E. Smith01:48.0
1997Touch GoldChris McCarron1.47.60
1996Skip AwayJose A. Santos01:47.6
1995Serena’s Song ‡Gary Stevens01:48.8
1994Holy BullMike E. Smith01:48.2
1993Kissin KrisJose A. Santos01:49.4
1992TechnologyJerry Bailey01:48.6
1991Lost MountainCraig Perret01:48.0
1990Restless ConTimothy T. Doocy01:49.2
1989King GloriousChris McCarron01:49.8
1988Forty NinerLaffit Pincay, Jr.01:47.6
1987Bet TwiceCraig Perret01:47.0
1986Wise TimesChris DeCarlo01:48.6
1985Skip TrialJean-Luc Samyn01:48.6
1984Big PistolGarth Patterson01:47.8
1983Deputed TestamonyHerb McCauley01:49.2
1982Wavering MonarchRandy Romero01:47.8
1981Five Star FlightCraig Perret01:48.4
1980Thanks To TonyCarlos Lopez, Sr.01:49.4
1979CoastalRuben Hernandez01:48.8
1978Delta FlagDan Nied01:53.2
1977AffiliateMiguel A. Rivera01:50.6
1976Majestic LightSandy Hawley01:47.0
1975WajimaBraulio Baeza01:49.6
1974Holding PatternMike Miceli01:49.8
1973Our NativeMiguel A. Rivera01:48.6
1972FreetexMichael Hole01:50.0
1971West Coast ScoutLarry Adams01:48.0
1970Twice WorthyJohn Ruane01:48.4
1969Al HattabRay Broussard01:50.2
1968BalustradeEric Walsh01:50.0

More racing events

Kentucky DerbyPreakness StakesBelmont Stakes
Triple CrownHaskell InvitationalArlington Millions
Travers StakesStars and Stripes StakesDubai World Cup
Saudi CupKentucky Oaks

Haskell Stakes FAQ

What does the winner of the race receive?

The race has had a guaranteed total purse of more than $1 million since 1997. For this year, the purse is expected to be $1.75 million, with $1 million going to the winner. The winner of this race will also pick up the Haskell Invitational trophy and gain a guaranteed entry into the Breeders’ Cup Classic.

When was the fastest running of the Haskell?

In 2022, Cyberknife, ridden by Florent Geroux and trained by Brad Cox, set the Haskell Stakes record with a winning time of 1:46.24.

What was the largest winning margin in the race?

In 2013, Verrazano romped home by an incredible 9.75 lengths. Verrazano came into the home stretch with two rivals just a length behind but pulled away for a win.

Which jockey has won the Haskell Stakes the most times?

Mike Smith, who was victorious in 1994, 1998, 2020, and 2023, holds the record for most wins at the Haskell Stakes with four.

Which trainer has won the Haskell Stakes the most times?

Bob Baffert is the most successful trainer in the history of the race, with an incredible nine wins. All of these wins came between 2001 and 2020 (2001, 2002, 2005, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, and 2020).

Has a filly ever won the Haskell?

Yes, on two occasions. The first filly to win was Serena’s Song, ridden by Gary Stevens in 1995. The brilliant Rachel Alexandra followed up her win at the Preakness Stakes by winning the Haskell Stakes with Calvin Borel on board in 2009.