Dubai World Cup Betting Guide 2024

Dubai has a long history of horse racing successes, and the Dubai World Cup is the biggest race in the calendar.

Champion horses from the US, Europe, Asia and South America have competed each year since 1996. Past winners include famous horses Cigar and Silver Charm.

This year sees the race’s 25th running. It takes place at the Meydan Racecourse in Dubai, UAE, on Saturday, March 28, 2020. The World Cup is the highlight of a one-day race card that sees many other big prize events.

The Dubai World Cup is no longer the world’s richest, though the $12 million purse is big enough to attract the best horses from around the world.

The preliminary entry list includes winners of the biggest races in the US, Europe and South America.

If you live in a state where pari-mutuel betting is legal, you can bet on the 2020 Dubai World Cup online.

Top site for betting on the 2020 Dubai World Cup

Get a No Sweat Win Bet up to $500 at FanDuel Racing
Bet on Horse Racing
Up to $500 Back if Your First Bet Doesn’t Win
Get Boosted Odds & the Best Promotions
Easy Deposits, Fast Withdrawals
To Claim: Click Play Now

Potential runners and odds on the Dubai World Cup

At the time of writing, the final list of entrants to the 2020 Dubai World Cup is still long.

In the weeks before the event, the final runners and riders list will be determined. Godolphin Racing, owned by Sheikh Mohammed, has 20 entrants at this early stage.

Here is the current list of possible runners in the 2020 race:

Other races at the Dubai World Cup Night

The Dubai World Cup Night is a series of eight thoroughbred horse races. There is also a race for purebred Arabian horses.

Here is the full list:

Gambling is not allowed in the United Arab Emirates; however, this does not stop the Dubai World Cup from being hugely popular.

The 60,000-capacity stadium fills up. Fireworks and entertainment go along with the horse racing action.

More racing events

Kentucky DerbyPreakness StakesBelmont Stakes
Triple CrownHaskell InvitationalArlington Millions
Travers StakesStars and Stripes StakesDubai World Cup
Saudi CupKentucky Oaks

How to bet on the Dubai World Cup?

Unlike sports betting, when you bet on horse races, you’ll be entering pari-mutuel pools.

This means all the money wagered either win, place, show and so on gets pooled. Then, the pool is divided among the winning tickets. Thus, the more people backing a horse, the lower the payout.

In addition to bets on single horses, you can bet on multiple finishers completing the race in the right order.

Here are the regular bets available:

Dubai Cup payouts based on type of bet

12Thunder Snow10.206.003.80
March 31st Race
10Thunder Snow22.4013.205.80
9West Coast2.202.10

Past winners of the Dubai World Cup

The first event was run by a horse that has gone on to become a household name.

Cigar, trained by Bill Mott, took down the 1996 race at age 6. Many of the other winners have been big names among horse racing fans.

Here is the Dubai World Cup winners list:

Full list of winners and finishing times

2019Thunder SnowChristophe Soumillon2:03.58
2018Thunder SnowChristophe Soumillon2:01.38
2017ArrogateMike E. Smith2:02.53
2016California ChromeVictor Espinoza2:01.83
2015Prince BishopWilliam Buick2:03.24
2014African StorySilvestre de Sousa2:01.61
2013Animal KingdomJoel Rosario2:03.21
2012MonterossoMickael Barzalona2:02.67
2011Victoire PisaMirco Demuro2:05.94
2010Glória de CampeãoT. J. Pereira2:03.83
2009Well ArmedAaron Gryder2:01.01
2008CurlinRobby Albarado2:00.15
2007InvasorFernando Jara1:59:97
2006ElectrocutionistFrankie Dettori2:01.32
2005Roses in MayJohn Velazquez2:02.17
2004Pleasantly PerfectAlex Solis2:00.24
2003Moon BalladFrankie Dettori2:00.48
2002Street CryJerry Bailey2:01.18
2001Captain SteveJerry Bailey2:00.47
2000Dubai MillenniumFrankie Dettori1:59.50
1999AlmutawakelRichard Hills2:00.65
1998Silver CharmGary Stevens2:04.29
1997SingspielJerry Bailey2:01.91
1996CigarJerry Bailey2:03.84

History of the Dubai World Cup

Sheikh Mohammed is a well-known figure in horse racing. His stable of thoroughbred horses under the Godolphin Racing brand has won titles around the world. These include the Epsom Derby, Kentucky Oaks and Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe.

As Vice President and Prime Minister of Dubai, Sheikh Mohammed set up the Dubai World Cup Night in 1996. This event features nine races, with eight for thoroughbreds. It takes place at the Meydan Racecourse on the last Saturday in March each year.

In 2020, the Dubai World Cup Night takes place on March 28, 2020.

The highlight is the World Cup, which has a $12 million purse and is run over 10 furlongs on a dirt track.

It is a Grade 1 event that attracts the strongest flat racing horses from around the world. It is open to thoroughbreds who are 4 years and older.

For many years, the Dubai World Cup was the richest single race globally. The Pegasus World Cup overtook this status in Florida in 2017 and 2018. But when Pegasus reduced its purse in 2019, Dubai, once again, became the world’s wealthiest race.

With the introduction of the new Saudi Cup, it looks like Dubai will lose that title.