NFL Comeback Player Of The Year: Latest 2023 Odds & Top Favorites

Updated on

Florida sports betting October

Betting odds on the winner of the NFL Comeback Player of the Year award are available at legal online sportsbooks. As you scroll through the list, there are a number of contenders who have the potential to deliver a bounce-back campaign. Here are the current lines and betting favorites to win this season’s NFL Comeback Player of the Year.   

Latest NFL Comeback Player of the Year odds

The latest betting odds from DraftKings Sportsbook on the winner of the next NFL Comeback Player of the Year award are in the table below. If you see a bet that you’re interested in, just click the odds to be directed to the sportsbook where you can place the wager.

NFL Comeback Player of the Year betting favorites

As the offseason rolls along, there’s one clear favorite to claim the comeback award. Behind him is a group of other players who are aiming for better days in the coming campaign. 

Hamlin has announced his intention to return after being fully cleared following his health scare. In Week 17 of last season, he suffered a frightening cardiac arrest in the midst of a Monday Night Football game with the Bengals.

Tagovailoa, Garoppolo, Lance and Kupp are all returning from injuries, while Jackson and Wilson are aiming to bounce back from seasons to forget. All six players have the potential to make the award chase interesting.

See More NFL Awards Odds

Legal Sports Report features dedicated pages for NFL odds, including the regular season MVP, Super Bowl MVP, and Rookie of the Year.

Other comeback candidates

Beyond the top favorites to win the award, there’s a large group of players who are bunched up in the latest betting odds.  

For the above list, we have five QBs and five skill position players on the comeback trail, along with Watt, the 2021 NFL Defensive Player of the Year. For the QBs, Jones will attempt to rebound from a challenging second pro season. Stafford and Murray are looking to recover from injuries, while Mayfield and Carr have landed in new destinations.

Ridley is returning from a one-year suspension, while Metchie missed the season due to illness. Pierce, Hall and Taylor are all coming back from injury.   

Recent Comeback Player of the Year winners

Here’s a look at the last decade of NFL Comeback Player of the Year winners. 

2022Geno SmithQBSeattle Seahawks
2021Joe BurrowQBCincinnati Bengals
2020Alex SmithQBWashington Commanders
2019Ryan TannehillQBTennessee Titans
2018Andrew LuckQBIndianapolis Colts
2017Keenan AllenWRLos Angeles Chargers
2016Jordy NelsonWRGreen Bay Packers
2015Eric BerrySKansas City Chiefs
2014Rob GronkowskiTENew England Patriots
2013Philip RiversQBLos Angeles Chargers

NFL Comeback Player of the Year betting trends

For the last five seasons — and six of the last 10 — the NFL Comeback Player of the Year has been a quarterback. A receiver has won twice over that span, while a tight end and safety have won the other two. Since the Associated Press took back over the voting for the award in 1998, here’s the full breakdown by position. 

As the numbers suggest, a QB who mounts an exceptional comeback season is a leading contender to win the award. However, a special season from a player at another position could flip the script. For this season, the betting odds are pointing to a clear non-QB favorite, but we’ll have to wait and see how it ultimately shakes out.